Ard Scoil na nDéise
Convent Road, Dungarvan
County Waterford, Ireland

Tel: (058) 41464

"Reaching our Potential with Respect, Care and Friendship"

Munster Cross Country Success, Road Safety Talk, Valentine’s Day Poetry Competition

15th February 2016

Ard Scoil na nDéise Athletes Head for All Ireland Cross Country Championships
Left to right: Aoife O’ Brien, Sarah Lacey, Lucy Holmes, Anne Mc Grath , Kate Hickey, Aoife Dee, Orla Keane. 
Junior Girls team with their silverware, County Champions, East Munster Champions and Munster Champions!

Munster Cross Country Success

On the 11th of February 17 students travelled to Cork City to compete in the Munster Cross Country championships. The competition was high, but the girls were ready. The first race of the day was the Minor Girls’ race. Mary Kate Prendergast continued her excellent form, finishing 11th overall. The first 15 finishers in each race and the first three teams qualify for the All-Ireland. Unfortunately, the Minor Girls team just missed out on a place in the All-Ireland. The team was made up of Mary Kate Prendergast, Gillian Whelan, Aoife Brazil, Ella O Neill, Kate Heffernan, Laura Miller and Ava Healy.  For some of the girls on the Minor team it was their first year even competing in Athletics, and it was such a huge achievement even to qualify for the Munster final in their first year. So well done to the Minor team!

The Junior Girls race was the highlight of the day. Lucy Holmes upped her gear again and finished 1st overall. This was some improvement from last year when she finished 4th. She led the team to first team prize. Not far behind Lucy was Kate Hickey who finished 7th overall.  Kate Hickey only took up the sport 12 months ago! Next home were Sarah Lacey, Aoife O Brien, Orla Keane, Aoife Dee and Anne Mc Grath. This team finished 5th overall last year. It’s amazing the difference a year makes and the hard work the girls have put in during the past year.

The Senior Girls race was up next, and Kate McGrath ran a stormer. She finished 6th overall and led her team home to 3rd team prize. Sinead O’Brien and Melissa Gallant also had superb races to complete the team.

The Junior Girls team, the Senior Girls team, Lucy Holmes, winner of the Junior Girls race and Mary Kate Prendergast now go on to compete in the All-Ireland Final which will be held in Sligo on the 5th of March.

We wish the girls the very best of luck.

Lucy Holmes, winner of the Junior Girls Race. Senior Girls Team who finished 3rd: Melissa Gallant, Sinead O’ Brien and Kate Mc Grath.

Junior Girls team who won first team prize: Aoife O Brien, Sarah Lacey, Aoife Dee, Orla Keane, Lucy Holmes, Anne Mc Grath and Kate Hickey

Miss Flavin and The Ard Scoil na nDéise girls who competed in the Munster Cross Country Finals

Road Safety Authority Talk

On Wednesday the 10th, one of the Transition Year classes was invited to the Dungarvan Youth Information Centre to listen to a talk from Ms. Karen McCarthy, who is a Road Safety Promotion Officer from the Road Safety Authority. She spoke to us about the importance of road safety and she showed us clips from R.S.A. campaigns. She told us about the dangers of speeding, texting while driving and how to respect other road-users, such as pedestrians and cyclists. She informed us of statistics on road fatalities from 2015 and also up to 8th of February. The results were shocking and a little bit frightening! It was really interesting, and it definitely made us more aware of the dangers of the road. 

Denise Murray & Amy Reynolds, Transition Year

Valentine’s Day Poetry Competition

Mrs Curran, our S.N.A., plays a very active role in promoting the use of our school library and its facilities.  Many students go to the library at lunch time to read and change their books, or to play board games.  In addition, Mrs Curran organises very interesting competitions, thus enabling students to use their talents in the writing of stories and poetry.  At this time of the year she organises the very popular Valentine’s Day Poetry competition.  This year Jessica Whelan in Second Year won first prize with her brilliant poem.  Martha Ryan and Aibhilín Dowling in First Year won second prize with a very witty poetic composition, and Jenny Maye-Twomey in Transition Year won third prize.

Poetry Competition Winners



home | about us | academics/services | policies | extracurricular | news | calendar | contact


Ard Scoil na nDéise
Convent Road, Dungarvan
County Waterford, Ireland
Tel: (058) 41464
Fax: (058) 44801

  © Ard Scoil na nDéise. All Rights Reserved.